View previous topic :: View next topic  
doninwales
High Card

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:51 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
I am relatively new to the poker scene, and was in a live tournament a few weeks ago - only a small local tournament, so no tournament director or other official, other than the person organising the event.
However, one hand caused quite a lot of confusion, and has led to much argument ever since.
I've been searching the internet for an answer, but to no avail.
I have found 'similar' (but not the same) situations discussed on these forums, and the people here appear to be very authoritative, so I thought I'd ask for advice on my situation... Smile

Eight player table. Large bets taking place, pre-flop. 6 players drop out after after the flop or turn.

At the river, just two players left.
The first player checks.
The second player also checks, simultaneously throwing his cards face down on to the table muttering 'I don't have anything' He did not declare that he was folding, nor did his cards hit the muck pile.

First player then shows his cards, 10 high, and proceeds to collect the large pot.
Second player quickly retrieves his cards, turns them over showing Jack high and claims the pot as his.

Much confusion ensues, with the loudest players claiming the the second player's cards were 'mucked' and hence dead.
The first player took the pot, and the second player felt very aggrieved.
Neither player were all-in, but the pot was relatively, very big.

MY thoughts are that the second player's cards were still in-play, since
* He had not announced that he was folding
* His cards did not hit the muck pile.

The confusing issue is that he did throw them face down on the table, and was heard to say 'I don't have anything'.
I appreciate that it 'could' be interpreted as them being thrown away (and 'perhaps' mucked...?)