View previous topic :: View next topic  
pconroy
High Card


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 10:53 am
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
Hello. Can anyone help. When I multi table SnG's (PStars) my PC becomes very slow and lags the more tables I open. I'm also running PT3 and Table Ninja.
My PC info is; Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz 2.99GHz, 1.99GB of RAM.
Is this lagging due to my old computer and if so what kind of set up should I be upgrading to, or do I just need to spring clean my existing one?
Thanks.
pembo
Full House


Joined: 20 Mar 2011
Posts: 1020
Location: Marske-by-the-Sea/Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 10:57 am
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
It's definitely an oldy, but no reason it shouldn't support a few tables. Probably worth a clean up and a defrag (programs>accessories>system tools>disk defrag).

If that fails, you can easily get a new basic system for 200-300, if all you are using it for is poker, internet/emails etc etc
Grumbledook
Royal Flush


Joined: 25 Dec 2003
Posts: 16061

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 11:12 am
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
that should run all that stuff fine, just needs a spring clean
darrensprengers
Misclick


Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 7551

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 2:48 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
add memory and also increase your virtual memory. defrag your disk, the pt3 database, and your paging file. also make sure you have a good % of your hard disk free.
pembo
Full House


Joined: 20 Mar 2011
Posts: 1020
Location: Marske-by-the-Sea/Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 3:49 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
darrensprengers wrote:
add memory


Reckon his mobo/cpu will handle more than 2GB though?
Grumbledook
Royal Flush


Joined: 25 Dec 2003
Posts: 16061

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 3:58 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
its a p4, should take at least 4 gig easily, though if using 32bit windows which is likely 3gig will be the max
darrensprengers
Misclick


Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 7551

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 6:00 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
Grumbledook wrote:
its a p4, should take at least 4 gig easily, though if using 32bit windows which is likely 3gig will be the max



3 is significantly more than 2. 64 bit i would go for 6gb.

you will have to check your mother board for extra slot. i would be amazed if you dont get two. try and balance it at 1x 1.5. if not go 2-1. put the 2gb in slot a or blue i think from my memory.

if your graphics card is not al singing all dancing you might get upto 3.5gb. you can stick in 4 gb as it just wont use the extra memory locations it cant access. bit of a waste though.
RobGibraltar
Out to Lunch


Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 7842
Location: York

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 1:51 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
this should run fine in 2gb, it's all the other rubbish which inveitably collects on a system which takes up the memory - just clean out your system tray and startup of all the helpers/assistants/monitor apps and clean your desktop as well - stick stuff in folders and if you have a 500Mb pic as your desktop background then reduce the size of that as well
_________________
Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes
darrensprengers
Misclick


Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 7551

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 4:25 pm
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
RobGibraltar wrote:
this should run fine in 2gb, it's all the other rubbish which inveitably collects on a system which takes up the memory - just clean out your system tray and startup of all the helpers/assistants/monitor apps and clean your desktop as well - stick stuff in folders and if you have a 500Mb pic as your desktop background then reduce the size of that as well


all this is only relevant with things like roaming profile or virtualisation. i think you have done those too much recently. lol
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hendon Mob Forum Index -> Non-Poker General Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum