WSOP 2008 Event #21, $5,000 No Limit Hold'em, Final Results and Report

WSOP 2008 Event #21, $5,000 No Limit Hold'em, Final Results and Report

Number of Entries: 731
Total Net Prize Pool: $ 3,435,700
June 11-13, 2008

Final Results

  Name Prize City State/Country
1 Scott Seiver $755,891 Las Vegas Nevada
2 Dave Seidman $482,372 Chicago Illinois
3 Benjamin Sprengers $292,034 Plantation Florida
4 Jacobo Fernandez $238,781 Hollywood Florida
5 Rajesh Vohra $195,834 Lake Worth Florida
6 Chuck Sklar $154,606 Los Angeles California
7 Anders Henriksson $120,249 Stockholm Sweden
8 Adam Geyer $94,481 Austin Texas
9 Scott Freeman $68,714 Oak Park California
10 Jorge Arias $42,946 Caracas Venezuela
11 Michael Mizrachi $42,946 Miramar Florida
12 Jonathan VanFleet $42,946 Austin Texas
13 Rayan Nathan $34,357 Adelaide Australia
14 Humberto Brenes $34,357 San Jose California
15 Josef Monro $34,357 Beverly Hills Michigan
16 Eric Baldwin $25,767 Beaver Dam Wisconsin
17 Jared Okun $25,767 Las Vegas Nevada
18 Kathy Woo $25,767 New York New York
19 Cody Slaubaugh $19,583 Rugby North Dakota
20 $19,583    
21 Quoc Vu $19,583 Garland Texas
22 Chris McCormack $19,583 Las Vegas Nevada
23 Aaron Coulthard $19,583 Waterloo Ontario, Canada
24 Kathy Liebert $19,583 Las Vegas Nevada
25 $19,583    
26 Mark Radoja $19,583 Guelph Ontario, Canada
27 John Murphy $19,583 Walnut Creek California
28 Eric Liu $16,147 Rockville Maryland
29 Noah Boeken $16,147 Amsterdam Netherlands
30 Jorryt Van Hoof $16,147 Dublin Ireland
31 Thanhdat Tran $16,147 El Monte California
32 Patryk Hildebranski $16,147 Kitchener Ontario, Canada
33 Blake Cahail $16,147 Kansas City Missouri
34 Alexander Kamberis $16,147 Bloomington Indiana
35 Ryan Rapaski $16,147 Clinton Township Michigan
36 Sam El Sayed $16,147 Causanne
37 Hasan Habib $12,712 Downey California
38 Daniel Smith $12,712 Folsom California
39 Anna Wroblewski $12,712 Las Vegas Nevada
40 Jerrod Ankenman $12,712 Avon Connecticut
41 Alex Melnikow $12,712 Las Vegas Nevada
42 Manelic Minaya $12,712 Tampa Florida
43 Keith Tilston $12,712 Austin Texas
44 James Hart $12,712 Northwood
45 Alex Jacob $12,712 Tulsa Oklahoma
46 George Dunst $11,681 Madison Wisconsin
47 Travis Pearson $11,681 Las Vegas Nevada
48 Jeremiah Vinsant $11,681 Murfreesboro Tennessee
49 Claudio Pagano $11,681 Silea Italy
50 David Mccollum $11,681 Happy Valley Oregon
51 R Tabatabai $11,681 London England
52 Steven Brecher $11,681 Reno Nevada
53 Wendell Teets $11,681 Lemon Grove California
54 Joshua Ladines $11,681 St Cloud Florida
55 Steven Gross $10,650 Marlboro New Jersey
56 James Lee $10,650 Weehawken New Jersey
57 Brent Roberts $10,650 Staten Island New York
58 David Singer $10,650 Las Vegas Nevada
59 Michiel Brummelhuis $10,650 Amsterdam Netherlands
60 John Sexson $10,650 Indianapolis Indiana
61 Sarah Bilney $10,650 Melbourne Australia
62 Dave Brannan $10,650 Plymouth England
63 Audrey Gouyer $10,650 Pointe Sauane France
64 Robert Zoellner $9,619 Tulsa Oklahoma
65 Keven Stammen $9,619 Coldwater Ohio
66 Amato Galasso $9,619 Ridgewood New Jersey
67 Christopher Miranda $9,619 Miami Florida
68 Peter Granlund $9,619   Sweden
69 Dag Palovic $9,619 Bratislava, Slovakia
70 n/a $9,619  
71 Rocco Lazazzaro $9,619 Las Vegas Nevada
72 Jan Heitmann $9,619 Munich Germany


Tournament Notes

The $5,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold’em championship attracted 731 entrants. The total prize pool amounted to $3,435,700, which is a record payout for this event. The top 72 finishers collected prize money.

Attendance for this event increased by 14 percent over last year. In 2007, this same tournament attracted 640 entries.

The tournament was played over three consecutive days. On Day Three, the final table was dealt out on the feature table, located on the ESPN stage. The secondary final table, located adjacent to the main stage area, featured the conclusion of Event #22 ($3,000 buy-in H.O.R.S.E.) in a scheduling overlap. Most days at the WSOP this year will include two final tables.

The winner was Scott Seiver. He is a 23-year-old professional poker player from Las Vegas, NV. Seiver is originally from Columbus, OH.

Seiver collected a whopping $755,891 for first place. He also earned his first WSOP gold bracelet. So far this year, Seiver has three WSOP cashes, including a 1st, 14th, and 22nd. He also cashed three times at last year’s World Series, giving him a total of six career in-the-money finishes.

The second-place finisher was David Seidman, from Chicago, IL.

Jacobo Fernandez made his second final table at this year’s WSOP. He took fourth place in this event and was the runner up in the Pot-Limit Hold’em championship (Event #3). This was his fourth cash this year.

Chuck Sklar busted out in sixth place, his highest WSOP finish to date. Sklar is a Hollywood comedy writer who has worked on the Academy Awards broadcast, the Chris Rock Show, and several other television and film projects.

Anders Henriksson took seventh place. This was his third career WSOP final table. In 2006, Henriksson won a gold bracelet in the $1,500 buy-in event.

Scott Freeman was the ninth-place finisher. He took 19th place in the 2007 WSOP Main Event.

James Mackey won this event last year. He entered again this year, but did not cash. This brings the current streak to 21 straight non-cashes for defending champions in their respective events.

Notable in-the-money finishers included former WSOP gold bracelet winners Humberto Brenes (14th), Kathy Liebert (24th), Hasan Habib (37th) and David Singer (58th).

Humberto Brenes achieved his 50th career WSOP cash with his finish in this event. He becomes only the seventh player in the 39-year history of the WSOP to achieve this milestone. Others include – Phil Hellmuth, Men “the Master” Nguyen, T.J. Cloutier, Berry Johnston, Chris “Jesus” Ferguson, and Erik Seidel.

Through the conclusion of Event #21, the professionals versus amateurs WSOP gold bracelet scoreboard currently reads: Professionals (15) and Amateurs (4). Note: Two events have been won by Semi-Pros (2).

Through the conclusion of Event #21, only one player has cashed five times to date – Nikolay Evdakov, from Moscow, Russia. Evdakov is in serious contention to challenge the record set for “Most WSOP Cashes in a Single Year,” shared by Michael Binger (2007) and Humberto Brenes (2006), with eight in-the-money strikes. Three players have cashed four times – Jacobo Fernandez, Craig Gray, and Roland Isra.

The current Milwaukee’s Best Light “Player of the Year” standings shows Erick Lindgren on top of the points list with one gold bracelet win and three cashes.