You are the Tournament Director Series 3: Does Saying 'Bet' Indicate a Raise?
NLH Freezeout in a UK casino. Player A raises preflop, player B says ‘BET’ and throws in an amount but just not enough to constitute a legal raise. The player who said ‘BET’ was a well known European pro who claims that his intention was clear and he says that by saying ‘BET’ he was obviously raising but he hadn’t seen the original raise. Do you allow him to make the amount up to a legal raise or is he forced to just call?
On a side note: In a tournament, if player B places the amount of the bet + at least 50% more in the pot, player B is required to make the minimum allowable raise. If player B places more than the original bet, but less that 50% more into the pot, then player B is only allowed to call.
If he announced “raise” he would has to complete the bet to a full minimum raise.
The Mob Verdict
It looks like all our TDs are in agreement. Jack says ‘Declarations in turn are binding, the words bet and raise have two different meanings.’ And he is of course right. Even if the feeling is that the player meant to raise he neither said ‘raise’ nor put enough chips in to constitute a legal raise. We agree and would have ruled a call only in this spot.
Get sponsored by the Mob