You are the Tournament Director Series 2: Is His Hand Dead?
This was posted on the Gutshot poker forum:
Recently at my poker society I had to give a difficult ruling:
Player 3 and 4 fold
I gave the ruling that his hand is dead, as so much action has taken place where he has not mentioned to everyone on the table that he is still has cards
What is the correct ruling?
Most of our Tournament Directors agree here that the player in seat 5 has taken too long to say anything and that with three players completing action after him his hand is now dead. Luke makes a good point saying that it would be ‘situational’ and the time factor is important which is fair enough.
Danny brings the action back and we assume that if the action is the same to Players 6, 1 and 2 that they have to act the same. If the action is different then the players can change their action. This would be fair only if the three players acted so quickly that the player in seat 5 had no real opportunity to act which in reality is unlikely.
Although it is always good to have a clear and consistent rule there are situations where two or three actions can happen simultaneously particularly if say players are either side of a dealer. Two or three players to act is a good rule of thumb but as Luke points out all situations are different.
400% Sign Up Bonus
Up to £1,200