You are the Tournament Director Series 2: Another Muck Question
Two players are heads up in a no-limit hold-em tournament. Player A moves all in on the river and player B (who has him covered) calls. Players B then throws his cards face up on the table revealing the nuts. He throws the cards down with such force that they slide across the table into the muck. You are called to the table and see where player A's cards appear to have ended up. One of them is deep into the muck so that only a corner is showing; the other is on top of the discards. They are the only two cards which are face up and the dealer says he believes they are the two cards from player B's hand. How do you rule?
All of our tournament directors are in agreement and we agree as well. Even though the cards have hit the muck they were tabled face up and it is clear to see what the player’s hand is. We would however explain to player B to be more careful in the future because had a card flipped over it may have been more difficult to rule this way.
Get sponsored by the Mob