You are the Tournament Director Series 2: All in Button
It is the main event at the WSOP and the 'all-in button' is in use. This is a single chip which when used to bet with indicates that the player is betting all their chips.
Player A bets 500. Player B is playing with his 'all-in chip' and accidentally drops it over the line. He grabs it back and pushes his cards forward slightly. Player C says 'call'. Player D says call and then throws in his all-in chip. As soon as player D says 'call' (before he has thrown his chip in) Player E says 'call' and throws in 500. Player F throws in his all-in chip without saying anything. Player G says 'call'. Player A says 'call'.
The dealer tells all the players to push their chips forward and turn over their cards as they are all all-in.
Player B says that he didn't mean to bet and that he folded on his turn. Player C says that he was only calling the 500 bet from player A, if player B is all-in he wants to fold.
Player D says he took it that player B was all in and that he had called the all-in bet.
Player E says he didn't see what player B did and thought he was calling a 500 bet, if he'd known when he said 'call' that there was an all in bet he would have folded.
Player F says he didn't know what player B had done but that he was calling player D's all-in bet.
Player G says he didn't know about the all-in chip and only wanted to call the bet he thought he was calling which was 500. If there is an all in bet before him he wants to fold.
Player A says he's seen two or three all-in buttons cross the line and was happy that he was calling an all-in bet.
How do you rule?
Players subsequent to player B have acted but not in a consistent manner. I would take the action back to Player B and verify with the dealer details of his bet, ie, how was the all-in button bet/how quickly was it retrieved/other relevant circumstances etc.
Once I had made the decision re player B, I would move on to Player C and clearly advise him of the actions of player B and what bet he (Player C) is facing.
Apparently nobody on the table, including the dealer, does have a clear idea what has happened. This situation is very confusing and there is no conformity among the players. I would push all the bets back to the players and let them start betting again.
You are kidding about this one right?
Player B’s hand is dead
Player C is committed to $500
Player D called the $500
Player E called the $500
Player F is all in for ?
Player G and A have called F’s all in bet and the action is now back to C to decide, next time come up with a tough question
Let me ask you a question; did player B actually put the 500 in? I think it's a genuine accident and I don't think he has to put his money in, despite what the other players think. He hasn't put the chips in, he hasn't said anything. By virtue of the fact that he's grabbed his all-in button and made no other indication he was betting all-in. Are you asking what I think of the all-in button? I think it's shit! Why do they have it? I think it's a terrible idea. His cards have gone forward he's made no attempt to put any chips in therefore he's not obligated to be involved in the hand.
If they are forcing the all in action onto Player B, any player acting after him who declares ‘Call’ is bound by their declaration. In player C’s case he is only calling the amount of Player B’s all-in and any excess chips will be returned to him.
Player D also declared ‘Call’ and may only call the amount of Player B’s bet as D only threw his all-in button after declaring ‘Call’. When the action gets back to him, and the other players have gone all-in for more than B’s raise, D may then choose to match these bets.
Player E must also call the all-in as he declared ‘Call’.
Player F’s all-in will stand.
Player G is calling the all-in from B,D and F, whichever is the greater.
Player A is calling ALL bets.
Action will be back to C, if he faces a bigger bet than B’s all-in he may call and pass as normal (this also applies to Player E).
The only player that I think would have a chance of a reprieve would be Player E as according to the situation as given, he announced ‘Call’, and threw in a 500 chip BEFORE player D threw in his all-in button and is obviously is not being sharp in his action. His 500 chip would however remain in the pot.
Everyone is all in and you just pay the price for not paying attention or not knowing the rules. That is the beauty of poker, you just don’t know what’s coming. This is a classic case of “the blind leading the blind”
When we came up with this question it was really just to show how stupid the ‘All-in Button’ really is. It was a marketing gimmick that has no place at the poker table. Thank god they didn’t try and use it again this year.
Click here to coment on this article