You are the Tournament Director: Exposing Your Hand
During a $1000 NLH Freeze out we are down to two tables and a pot develops. On the flop player A bets and player B moves all in. Player A starts to think and then turns over his two hole cards to get a reaction from his all in opponent. How do you rule?
The Mob Verdict
The standard rule (generally) for this 10 years ago was that it was ok to turn your hand over. Then (generally) it changed to the ruling that the hand was dead. Now, as you can see, it can vary greatly from country to country and card room to card room. One thing that we are all in agreement with is that the player should be penalised in one way or another. Matt and Thomas give a time penalty. We assume that this would increase for serial repeaters. Jack interestingly only give the time penalty if he calls and we’re not sure we agree with that.
Matt explains why the hand is not automatically killed and if a hand was accidentally or innocently exposed it wouldn’t necessarily be right to kill it.
Liam and Marty both call the hand dead and Marty makes good reasons why.
Mel gives the player 30 seconds to call and Joe feels that this might be hard to police. Barny says it is a good and imaginative idea which helps to offset the advantage of gaining extra information while falling short of killing the hand. It is no harder to police than another situation where a clock is put on a player.
To start with Joe was in the same camp as Liam and Marty but after further thought he prefers time penalties that get progressively more severe. This is because we have seen several situations where it is not completely apparent whether the hand was turned over intentionally, whether the player was trying to shoot an angle or gain an advantage or if it was innocent or accidental.
Get sponsored by the Mob