Goto page 1, 2  Next View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pedro

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 12:08 am
Hi Everyone,

I'd say at the moment I'm an amateur at poker. I play with a set group of friends and play the same games, but I am not coming out a consistent winner, which is really irritating because I am really good at reading people, and I play with total stoners! (I figure these people can be easy to beat)

Her are some questions that I have for all:

-What is a great book on learning poker odds, tells, and various strategies? Thus far, I have picked up "Mike Caro's Book of Tells", and it seems to be very good thus far.

-What are some basic strategies that all good poker players should follow (Ex: starting bankroll, general advice, when to definitely fold, etc.)

-What are the easiest tells to spot?

Basically, I play poker with a bunch of idiots; though they may possess common sense at the table, I think I can easily break the bank due to their lack of "true" poker knowledge, and the fact that they're high every time we play. Most importantly, I wanna be a graet poker player and move on to playing in several different social circles.

I appreciate all advice!
dan
One Pair

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 12:49 am
View user's profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Reply with quote
i found mike caro's book of tells useful too although i have nearly finished it and will soon have to revert back to normal toilet paper.

my advice would be not to worry about tells but play sound poker. if your mates are as clueless/stoned as you say then play good starting hand and raise them well. avoid slow playing as i have found stoned people are more likely to call a bet then bet themselves. if you're interested in tells then look at their eyes, it's all there.

there are some useful tips on my website, you just have to LU-OOK FOR THEM,

dan.
www.deucedeuceclub.co.uk

--Previous Message--

: Hi Everyone,
: